Why Spending Money on Concerts is Worth It!

Concerts are exciting for many people and are a main form of entertainment. Along with that they also activate neural pathways in the brain. According to MSU people who go to concerts show increased levels of endorphins, which are hormones that bring happiness. I am proof of this because I am known to go to many concerts and the reason I do is because of how happy they make me. When you love music or a musician it can be a joyful experience to see that music in person! Here are some of Carlson’s students’ favorite concerts and why.

Morgan Wallen

Morgan Wallen came to the Ford Field in Detroit on June 29, 2023. He performed 25 songs in an hour and thirty-five minutes. He sang many of his most popular songs and most songs from his album “One Thing at a Time”.

Andria Konczal went to this concert and had a great time! When I asked her why she loved the concert she said “Being able to experience a concert from this close to the stage was so amazing. I love how much Morgan Wallen interacted with the crowd throughout the whole show. personally, I love his music so being able to see it live and right in front of me was a memory I will forever hold onto.”

.

.

Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift had two concerts in Detroit in 2023. She was at the Ford Field on June 9, 2023, and June 10, 2023. She was touring the “Eras tour” which is an almost three-hour show with music from all of her 11 albums.

 Many people from Carlson went to one of the two concerts but I asked Bree Shimizu, who went to night one of the concerts. When I asked her about the concert she said “ Back on June 9th I went to the Taylor Swift Eras Tour concert with my cousin Gracie. We grew up listening to her songs together and had been waiting the whole year for it and it did not disappoint. It was one of the best nights of my life. It felt like a 3-hour therapy session that I had so badly been needing after a rough year. I still have my concert outfit hanging on my closet door because I can’t seem to put it away. Definitely a night to remember.”

Benson Boone

Benson Boone played at The Fillmore Detroit on April 4, 2024. His music has started blowing up in the last year and he has had many of his songs on the charts including his hit song “Beautiful Things”.

Even though he is still a growing artist, many people were very excited to see him live. One of these people is Erin Riley. When I asked her about the concert she said this “I have always loved Benson Boone’s music and seeing him live was the best experience I could’ve asked for. I especially loved his concert because I was able to go with one of my best friends Lila who also likes his music (because I forced her to listen to him). His venue was sold out so there were a lot of people which I think made it even better. His voice live sounded exactly like his songs, he was fun to watch because he does a bunch of cool flips on stage, he has an amazing personality, and the setup was just great.”

.

Beyonce

Beyonce came to The Ford Field in Detroit on July 26, 2023. She was on her Renaissance tour and many people were excited for her to be in Detroit.

I asked Andrea Sandoval about her experience and she said this “Going to the Beyonce concert was the most incredible moment of my life. I went with my friend, Eli, who thankfully had enough money to secure front-row VIP tickets for her recent Renaissance Tour which was the best concert I’ve ever been to. We got to Ford Field at 11am and we didn’t leave the stadium until 12am so we stood for 13 hours. I would do it all over again to see Queen B.”

.

Big Time Rush

Big Time Rush is a band that broke up a while ago and recently reunited. They came to The Pine Knob Music Theatre on July 19, 2023, for their “Can’t Get Enough Tour”. They sang a mix of their old hits and songs from their new album called “Another Life”.

Maranda Steinmetz went and gave me her favorite parts. ” This was from the Big Time Rush concert I went to in July last year. I thought it was so much fun because it was my first concert being older than 7. I forgot how fun they were. I also had so much fun because I was with my big sister, Hannah Krolak, her sister, and Ella Blake. It brought back a lot of childhood memories because I went to a Big Time Rush concert when I was little and this one was even more fun now being a teenager.”

Olivia Rodrigo

Olivia Rodrigo came to Little Caesars Arena in Detroit on March 23, 2024. She was touring for her new album “GUTS”. She put on an hour and forty-five-minute show including songs from her first album “SOUR” and her new album. I was super excited for this show and it was great to even get tickets because me, my mom, and my sister signed up to get tickets and only my sister was able to get tickets. Even though we were in the nosebleeds we still had a great time and just being in the building was a good experience.

.

Guns N’ Roses

Guns N’ Roses came to Comerica Park in Detroit on August 8, 2024. After it being rescheduled twice because of Covid it finally happened. They sang twenty-two songs and gave a great show to their fans after all the trouble.

 When I asked Ella Blake how the concert was she said “All my life my dad would blare their album Appetite of Destruction in the car claiming this was his favorite when he was a teenager. Then, going to the concert together, we got to hear our song Sweet Child O’Mine. Getting that experience with my dad made this a concert I will never forget. Seeing Guns N’ Roses perform was amazing, but watching my dad have the time of his life was better.”

.

You can see how all of these people only had good things to say about these concerts and saw them as good experiences. This just proves that concerts boost happiness. Even though concerts are expensive it is worth it in the end because you gain happy memories and it overall improves your mood.

By: Hannah Krolak

5 replies to Why Spending Money on Concerts is Worth It!

  1. I really liked Hannah’s article, I liked how it mentioned all the different music artist and it gives me some ideas of some concerts I want to go to.

  2. I loved the setup of the article and how much feedback you got from fellow classmates! I love how you included the information about the concert and then the feedback. This gave me so much information on artists and pictures of them, and this makes me want to go to another concert soon!

  3. I loved how you included your classmates and their feedback of the concerts that they went to! This made me want to go to more concerts this summer!

  4. I love how much feedback was given. I loved reading this!

  5. This article was amazing, the way everything was explained in detail and just everything overall. I would definitely say that going to concerts is one way of happiness. I’ve gone to a few concerts and going to them made me a lot happier and will always be a moment I’ll remember.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *